Quarantine, Day 10, 11 and 12

Another day in the Big Brother house. It’s hard to actually remember what day it is now. They somehow all blend into one. My week was usually governed by what work I had. Monday, double spin day, Tuesday, work in school day, Wednesday, Wipeout day, Thursday beloved Bootcamp day and Friday, well you didn’t need reminding, because it’s that Friday feeling kind of day! Saturday and Sunday, well, its ‘let’s go absolutely mental kids,’  kind of days! God bless the weekend, it’s what we are all striving for right? That repetitive cycle of, Monday morning blues, Wednesday ‘hump day’ jitters, feel good Friday feelings and roll forward to Sunday evening, feelings of Monday morning blues are already setting in. Surly life was not made to be recycled in such a way? But I know I’m not the only one. My friends and I long for the weekends, some of us even ring each other daily, my friend Rachel and I, often ring each other early morning and sing to our hearts content, ‘it’s Friday baby, friiiiiiidaaaaaaaaay, boom shaka laka, its Friday, Its Friday , its Friday, its Friday ! That Friday feeling is like waking up on Christmas morning to find a bag of treasures sitting at the foot of your bed, it’s like Arsenal winning the Premier league (whenever that will happen), or like beating my deadlift 1 REP MAX. No matter how many weeks into the year, it never gets boring, that Friday feeling is worth more than a pot of gold and I never get bored of it.

Fridays now, are quite a different affair. The highlight of the day is Harry returning from work. He for now, has been summoned back to work, apparently his work is ‘key work,’ it certainly is ‘key’ for his sanity. When he walks through the door, I make sure I’m wearing something nice, usually not a lot, the door swings open and I pounce on him, wrapping both my legs around his waste, swinging my head in a ‘head and shoulders’ kind of way. I consume him with my long golden locks and ‘Gucci Rush,’ aroma then I back flip off, and begin one full strip down for him, right in the centre of the hallway. And then, and then Jeanette appears with her bin bag and plastic gloves, demanding a full COVID-19 decontamination screening and then my ‘Friday fantasy,’ is splat all over the hallway floor, in one big fat Corona mess.

Despite not being able to walk around in my underwear or seduce Harry at any given moment, we do on the brighter side of life, have much more time together. In light of COVID-19 we have become frequent training partners, lovers and frequent daily strollers. Just like in our travel days, we pretty much spned all our time together and every day, even though I have to pick up hs socks, make th bed, isten to his snoring and squeeze his balckheads, I am reminded that I have chosen ‘a good egg.’

Nowadays I seem to have the time to focus on me, which means finally getting round to shaving my legs, plucking my eyebrows and washing may hair more than once a week. For now, I’ve managed to do just two of them things, my legs are freshly shaven, my eyebrows pruned, but washing my hair more frequently, is a task. In the Ringo household, as I’ve said before, a roster of showering, eating and general relaxing is in full swing. On average and I have worked this out, it takes me two minutes to shower, impressive right? This suits the rest of the family nicely, especially when I’m showering twice a day. Chris on the other hand, well I’m not sure what he does in that bathroom, but all the pruning in the world could be done and Chris would still be loitering in there until one of us shouts ‘Chris hurry the hell up! Its actually impressive. Every morning he goes into the bathroom, the shower goes on lasting around 7-10minutes. Immediately after he proceeds to dry himself and then suddenly he releases a ‘fog horn’ like sound, in three big blows. I mean it’s a like a warning call going off, ‘the Germans are coming, run for your lives! Pre-Corona Virus, there was no need for a Chris alarm clock, I was up, ready and out of the house before the rest of the Ringo sleeping beauties even stirred but now it’s one of life’s daily essentials, just like shaving my legs, it’s something I’ve just got to get used to.

Another hump day came and went in the Ringo household and like a click of the fingers, we were back to Thursday, Bootcamp day. ‘Here, here,’ to all my Bootcampers, they are a splendid bunch. For the second time we came together at 7:15pm via video streaming, in an effort to blow off some steam, with a common endeavour of, ‘forget about this dam Corona’ and it certainly works. In the first five minutes, the Ria Cherry ‘emergency button’ was hit, with 35 people staring back at me and the internet cutting in and out, it was operation ‘complete meltdown.’ One things for sure, you can never rely on technology and secondly, always have a back up plan. After resulting to a state of total erratic behaviour of screaming to Harry for help and damming the person who ever invented the internet, I finally cracked it and manged to stream the class from my 4G data and all was calm again. I guess I’m somewhat of a performing monkey for the best part of that 45mins, jumping around like ‘Mr Motivator,’ thrusting my hips, singing and clapping my hands in a joyous display of happiness. In that that small moment, we laugh and train together, in that small moment we are reminded that together we are united, together we are stronger and together we can complete around 3000 burpees in just 45mins! We ended our BOOTCAMP session much the same way as the last with a united, universal clap for our beloved NHS staff. To all those fighting for us on the front line, we love you, we salute you and we owe you everything. Thank you.

2 thoughts on “Quarantine, Day 10, 11 and 12

Leave a comment